Wanted: Higher ISO

A couple of weeks ago, I covered the Talent Night of Mr. and Ms. SBE. It was held in an audio-visual hall (read: somewhat dark environment). I left my external flash at home that day but I did bring my 50mm f/1.8. My camera, a Canon EOS Kiss X2 (or 450D, if you prefer), only goes up to ISO 1600.

Shot at 1/50 sec., f/1.8, ISO 1600

Shot at 1/50 sec., f/1.8, ISO 1600

The photo looks well lighted but at the cost of motion blur. With all the fast-paced action on stage, the settings used sometimes can’t provide the needed stopping power without compromising exposure.

It was during this event that I began to feel the need to upgrade to a better camera. Any DSLR with a higher ISO range than this one will do… as long as it’s Canon, of course.

Leave a Reply

