Candid Shots

I sometimes joke to friends that if I were to get a degree in photography, I’d concentrate on candid shots (for the record, De La Salle – College of Saint Benilde really does offer a bachelor’s degree in photography). It doesn’t really come as a surprise for me, though. My first lens was a Sigma 28-300mm f/3.5-6.3 which allowed me to take photos of people doing their own thing from far away. Taking candid shots from meters away, though, wasn’t too exciting (not to mention difficult with a maximum aperture of f/6.3 at the 300mm end of the lens).

I still shoot candids with my Tamron 17-50mm f/2.8 and my Canon 50mm f/1.8 even if it means getting close to subjects. Actually, I think it’s better to take candids up close instead. It helps me to relate with the subject and his environment.

Why do I take candid shots of people at events?

From COCAAI Alumni Homecoming 2013

From COCAAI Alumni Homecoming 2013

Photography is a means by which stories are told. Candids are part of my storytelling. I take photos of the big man when he’s on stage and when he’s taking a breather. Sometimes, he needs to be seen from another light.

From Mr. and Ms. SBE 2013

From Mr. and Ms. SBE 2013 Pageant Night

I believe that the guys who work behind the scenes deserve recognition as well. Events can’t go smoothly without them, after all.

From Unmasquerade

From Unmasquerade

Guests play a very vital role at events. The show can’t go on without them. There’s the occasional photo bomber who can make or break a shot. It’s all part of the challenge.

Why do I take candid portrait shots?

From The Good, the Bad and the Kid

From The Good, the Bad and the Kid

While it’s nice to have models pose, I like to evoke genuine emotions. It tends to speak about who the person really is.

From USC BA Graduating Students Cluster Pictorial

From USC BA Graduating Students Cluster Pictorial

When people are in groups, I like to isolate subjects and look for that perfect shot. Including photographs of individuals can sometimes enhance the overall story.

From COCAAI Alumni Homecoming 2013

From COCAAI Alumni Homecoming 2013

Sometimes, I like to see how people react when I call them out. Some cover up, some make funny faces, and some give a really gorgeous look.

Leave a Reply

